What Does Pentateuch Mean?


4 Answers

Nisha Fernandes Profile
Nisha Fernandes answered
The term Pentateuch simply means 'five rolls or cases'. In actuality the word Pentateuch is of Greek origin and is coined from the Greek words penta which means five and teukhos which means 'case or roll'. The Pentateuch is one of the first five books of the Old Testament- namely Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy in that particular sequence.

In Judaism however the traditional word for the Pentateuch is the Torah. It is also called, although rather seldomly, 'the Law'. For the Jews the Pentateuch is the first five books of the Hebrew Scriptures whereas for the Christians it denotes the first five books of the Old Testament in the Bible.

Genesis begins with the creation of the world by God and man's fall from grace. It also gives an orderly account of the ancestry of the first man Adam. Exodus describes the birth and gradual ascendancy of Moses who would later lead the Jews out from slavery in Egypt to the Promised Land Canaan. Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy have detailed rules which the Israelites must aim to follow amongst many other things.
Muddassar Memon Profile
Muddassar Memon answered
Pentateuch basically is the Greek name given for the initial five books of the Hebrew Bible. The term Pentateuch comes from Greek words pente, which means "Five" and teuxos which some what means "case", a reference to the cases which have the five scrolls of the Laws of Moses.

The Pentateuch was conventionally thought to have been written down by Moses. Hence Genesis is also at times known as the initial of Moses, Exodus the second book of Moses, and so forth.

In its present shape, each consecutive book of the Pentateuch picks up and continues the story of the preceding book to form a continuous story. Deuteronomy comprises mainly of sequence of speeches by Moses on the plains of Moab contradictory Jericho exhorting Israel to obey God and giving additional instructions of the laws.
Edia Rex-Ogbuku Profile
Edia Rex-Ogbuku answered
The first five books of the Old Testament in the Bible, traditionally ascribed to Moses(a prophet).
Selie Visa Profile
Selie Visa answered
A brief summary of the Pentateuch (also known as the Law or Torah):

Penta (Greek form pente) means five. Pentateuch is the first five books of the Old Testament (Torah). Torah, or Pentateuch (Five Scrolls), is traditionally the most revered portion of the Hebrew canon. It comprises a series of narratives, interspersed with law codes, providing an account of events from the beginning of the world to the death of Moses.

The meaning of "Torah" is restricted to signify the first five books of the Old Testament, also called the Law or the Pentateuch. These are the books traditionally ascribed to Moses, the recipient of the original revelation from God on Mount Sinai. Jewish, Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, and Protestant canons all agree on their order: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy.

The term Torah is also used to designate the entire Hebrew Bible. Since for some Jews the laws and customs passed down through oral traditions are part and parcel of God's revelation to Moses and constitute the "oral Torah," Torah is also understood to include both the Oral Law and the Written Law.

Answer Question