What Are The Canadian Police Called?


6 Answers

Akshay Kalbag Profile
Akshay Kalbag answered
The official name of the Canadian police is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). The Royal North West Mounted Police (RNWMP) was the former name of the RCMP, and it was renamed the RCMP in 1920 following its merger with the Dominion Police.

The Canadian police officers, who are employed with the RCMP, are nicknamed the Mounties. The RCMP, which is known in French as the Gendarmerie Royale du Canada (GRC), is both the federal police force and the national police in Canada. The RCMP is responsible for enforcing the federal laws and maintaining law and order in the three territories of Canada, namely the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, and in eight of the ten provinces in the country. While the provinces of Ontario and Quebec have their own provincial police forces, parts of Newfoundland and Labrador also do not come under the jurisdiction of the RCMP. The eight provinces under the control of the RCMP are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Saskatchewan.
thomas maurer Profile
thomas maurer answered
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered

Answer Question